Central Steuben chamber notes annual honorees, scholarships

Mary Perham

Area businessmen and businesswomen are slated to be honored this month by the Central Steuben Chamber of Commerce for their contributions to the local economy -- and their quieter contributions to those less fortunate in the area.

Award-winners this year are:

Business Person of the Year – John Ferris, owner of John Ferris Trucking

Business of the Year – Simmons Rockwell

Agri-business of the Year – Slayton Family Farms, Avoca

Non-Profit Group of the Year – Pregnancy Resource Center

Community Citizenship Award – Dave Taylor Smith.

“All of these groups have contributed something to the wider area,” outgoing Chamber President Bonnie Albee said. “But this year, we also looked at what they’ve done quietly. They all are unsung heroes.”

In addition, scholarships in the memory of Art Putnam and Barb Muller will be awarded to Bath Central School District, in recognition of their years of service.

The theme of the Chamber’s annual dinner meeting and awards ceremony Jan. 21 is “Here We Grow Again.” The event will begin with a 6 p.m. social hour in the Bath Fire Hall. A 7 p.m. buffet dinner will be followed by the awards ceremony.